Asian Like Me

Are You an Asian or an Orientalist?

Chun-li’s “Shanghai Kick!”… and Cooking Bibimbap with Friends

leave a comment »

지난 주 금요일에는 스캇이 놀러와서 쿠키 굽고 비디오 게임하며 놀았다. 90년대 초 유행했던 “스트리트 파이터 II” 그리고 게임 캐럭터 춘리… 고등학생 때 오락실 자주 가면서 춘리 캐럭터에 참 익숙해 졌다. 스캇 왈 자기도 춘리를 좋아했다고 한다. “버드 스핀 킥”을 “샹하이 킥”이라고 부르는 스캇… ㅋㅋㅋ

Last Friday my friend Scott came over for dinner and to hang. I had some pre-made cookie dough, so we finished off our dinner with home-made chocolate cookies! We even had some goofy fun with it by making our names. And we played Tatsunoko vs. Capcom Wii game which I just purchased the day before. We both grew up playing Street Fighter II in the early 90s and our favorite character was Chun-li. Her bird spin kick was very impressive at that time. Scott remembered it “Shanghai kick!” Well, I have no idea what she was shouting when she was doing that kick, but in the current Wii game, she says, “Bird spin kick!” so that’s what I call it.

어제는 감제, 잭, 로빈이 놀러와서 비빔밥을 해 먹었다. 비빔밥 요리하기는 그리 어렵지 않은데 재료를 하나 하나 볶아야 하기 때문에 시간이 좀 걸린다. 결국에는 다 섞을 건데… 섞기 전 10초 동안의 눈의 즐거움을 위하여 고생했다. 그래도 친구한테 한국 요리 소개하고 같이 시간을 보내는 것 자체가 좋은 것이다.

Meanwhile, yesterday I asked Zach to stop by on his way to home from work because I wanted him to pick up my mail from our office mailroom. (My apartment is on his way home.) I cooked zaru soba and bibimbap. Our friends Gamze and Robin joined us and we had such a good time, drinking blue moon and eating.

Written by asianlikeme

May 26, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

